iTunes Logo inTunes

The worldwide audio catalog


Also known as Datacide 2
Members of DATacide: Tetsu Inoue, Uwe Schmidt

Discography of DATacide:

# Dwnld Release title Total tracks Type Imprint date Label
1 Flowerhead 5 Track list 1995
2 Datacide 9 Track list 1993 Pod Communication
3 Flowerhead 5 Track list 1996-07-23 Asphodel
4 Ondas 6 Track list 1996-10-00 Rather Interesting
5 The Extasy Of Communication 3 Track list 1993 Pod Communication
6 Datacide 2 Track list 1993-12-13 Fax +49-69/450464
7 Datacide II 6 Track list 1994-01-24 Fax +49-69/450464
8 Ondas 4 Track list 1997 Daisyworld Discs
9 Ondas 6 Track list 1997-06-27 Daisyworld Discs

Datacide began recording together in 1993, after Tetsu Inoue met Uwe Schmidt while vacationing near Frankfurt. They recorded a pair of dance tracks for 12-inch release on [l=Fax +49-69/450464], followed by a full-length which mixed more uptempo trance-oriented techno with beatless ambient and experimental soundscapes. A second Datacide release in a similar, though more ambient vein (and titled, of course, Datacide II) appeared the following year before Tetsu Inoue and Uwe Schmidt switched gears for their first Rather Interesting release, Flowerhead, an album of laidback ambient-jazz. Ondas, released in 1996, upped Flowerhead's weirdness factor significantly, dwelling for most of the album in channel separation experiments which fused the rhythmic abstraction of Atom Heart's recent solo work with the fizzier, more left-field of Tetsu Inoue's electronic treatments (Tetsu Inoue's girlfriend, Ingrid, even makes an extended cameo on "mouth trumpet").

Comments about DATacide: