iTunes Logo inTunes

The worldwide audio catalog

Lord Sassafrass

Michael Orlando Johnson

Also known as Lord Sasafrass, Lord Sassa Frass, Lord Sassa Fross, Lord Sassa-Fross, Lord Sassafrace, Lord Sassafras, Lord Sassafrost, Lord Sassi Fross, M. Johnson, S. Frass, S. Fross, Sasafras, Sasafrass, Sassa, Sassa Fras, Sassa Frass, Sassa Frast, Sassa Frost, Sassa-Fross, Sassafras, Sassafrass, Sassafross

Discography of Lord Sassafrass:

# Dwnld Release title Total tracks Type Imprint date Label
1 Don't Wait Too Long 7 Track list 2008-03-28 Queep Organic Soul
2 The Horse Man Connection 12 Track list 1982 Starlight Records
3 Step Up In Life / Step Up In Dub 2 Track list 1989 Time 1 Records
4 1983 Live Stage Show At Ranny Williams Entertainment Center 2 Track list 1983 Roots Rockers
5 Poccomania Jump 10 Track list 1985 Black Scorpio (2)
6 Calypsonian Jump 2 Track list 1985 Black Scorpio (2)
7 No More Heartaches / I'm The One 2 Track list 1982 Gorgon Records
8 Step Up In Life / Version 2 Track list Quality Music (3)
9 National Dish 2 Track list 1985 Black Scorpio (2)
10 Green Bay Incident 2 Track list 1978 Upsetters
11 Need You 2 Track list 1984 Stereo Records (5)
12 Take Heed / Get In The Groove 4 Track list Black Joy
13 Trickster In Love 2 Track list King Bennie
14 Murder She Wrote 3 Track list Ashantites
15 Lyrical Class / Let's Be Friends 3 Track list Esso Jaxxon
16 Pocomania Jump / Four Legs Gallop 2 Track list 1984
17 Murder She Wrote 2 Track list 1986 Ottey's & Ashantics
18 Proud A We 2 Track list Riley Inc.
19 100lbs Of Collie / Rasta Come From Jail 2 Track list 1982 Black Joy
20 Don't Point Your Finger 2 Track list Gorgon Records
21 A B C 2 Track list 1984 Black Scorpio (2)
22 Jamaica Way 2 Track list 1987 Skengdon
23 Poccomania Jump 8 Track list Horseman Records (2)
24 Poccomania Jump 2 Track list Horseman Records (2)
25 Jamaica Way 2 Track list Skengdon
26 Step Up Ina Life 2 Track list 1996 Black Scorpio (2)
27 Sweet Africa 2 Track list 1982 Starlight Records
28 Jamaica 25th 2 Track list 1987 Sunset Records (2)
29 Raiding Party 2 Track list Horseman
30 Green Bay Incident / Dreadlocks In Moon Light City 2 Track list Upsetter
31 Run Di Session / Talking Yardie 2 Track list 2013 Jahtari
32 International Jocky / Big Bad Wicked 2 Track list Horseman Label
33 I've Got To Tune In / Hopper Dance 4 Track list Jah Life
34 A B C / Pocomainia Jump 2 Track list 1984 Black Scorpio (2)
35 The Don Of All Dons 2 Track list GT I-Power
36 Rasta Come From Jail / Hundred Pounds Of Collie 2 Track list Papa D Records
37 Love Mi Boops 2 Track list Black Scorpio (2)
38 Chubby Belly 2 Track list 1987 Harry J Records

Jamaican recording artist Lord Sassafrass is best known as a dancehall Reggae DJ with the Black Scorpio Sound System. On Black Scorpio Sound, Lord Sassafrass introduced the world to General Trees, and the entire Horseman Crew. Prior to his career in music Sassafras was employed at the riding stables at the Caymans Park racecourse in Jamaica. A regular visitor to the course was the entrepreneurial Jack Scorpio who built his own popular sound system in the early 70s and ventured into record production in the 80s. His first production was Sassafras performing ‘Pocomania Jump’, a reference to the religious culture that has survived in Jamaica since the days of slavery. The tune was an instant hit. Much of Sassafrass’ musical history is seen in the live dance. Similar to the career of Brigadier Jerry, Sassafrass was entertaining in an era of live djs, where recorded music was secondary to the live dance. In 1985 he went to New York where he performed on heavy weight soundsystems like Third World or GT Hi Power, just to name a few. His work today carries out the tradition he started almost forty years ago – a sound that is completely unique and his own.

Comments about Lord Sassafrass: