iTunes Logo inTunes

The worldwide audio catalog

Lollipop Shoppe, The

Also known as Lollipop Shoppe
Members of Lollipop Shoppe, The: Bob Atkins, Ed Bowen, Fred Cole, Ron Buzzel, Tim Rockson

Discography of Lollipop Shoppe, The:

# Dwnld Release title Total tracks Type Imprint date Label
1 Just Colour 17 Track list UNI Records (2)
2 Someone I Knew 2 Track list 1969 Shamley
3 You Must Be A Witch 2 Track list 1968 UNI Records
4 Just Colour 12 Track list Breeder Backtrack Archive Series
5 Just Colour 14 Track list 2008 Rev-Ola
6 Just Colour 12 Track list Tapestry Records
7 Just Colour 14 Track list 1985 Big Beat Records
8 Just Colour 12 Track list 2008
9 Just Colour 12 Track list 1968 Uni Records
10 Mr. Madison Avenue 2 Track list Tower
11 Just Colour 17 Track list 1998 Not On Label
12 Just Colour...Plus 17 Track list Hyacinth

The Lollipop Shoppe were a 1960s psychedelic garage rock band. They were originally known as The Weeds and featured [a=Fred Cole], now of Dead Moon. After The Weeds signed to UNI Records (a now-defunct subsidiary of MCA), their new manager, "Lord" Tim Hudson, insisted they change their name to The Lollipop Shoppe to fit in with the current trend of bubblegum music. The band's actual recordings, including the 1968 LP Just Colour, are hardly bubblegum, but instead a mix of garage rock and psychedelia. The album and its single, "You Must Be a Witch," are regarded as period classics and still prized by collectors, though neither made the charts. The band opened for stars such as Janis Joplin and The Doors, and appeared in the biker movie Angels from Hell. The album has been bootlegged; the Music Maniac label has announced a reissue but it has not appeared. The Lollipop Shoppe released one more single, "Someone I Knew" b/w "Through My Window", before breaking up in 1969. They reunited as The Weeds for a 1971 single.

Comments about Lollipop Shoppe, The: